Saying “Goodbwyes.”

“Why can’t we get all the people together in the world that we really like and then just stay together?  I guess that wouldn’t work.  Someone would leave.  Someone always leaves.  Then we would have to say good-bye. I hate good-byes. I know what I need. I need more hellos.” – Charles M. Schulz

For Kimmy 07.28.10 (c) C. Quintana 2010

The history of “goodbye,” according to Answers.com (by the way, I’m not at all sure how accurate Answers.com really is, but I’m going to take its word on this one):

No doubt more than one reader has wondered exactly how goodbye is derived from the phrase “God be with you.” To understand this, it is helpful to see earlier forms of the expression, such as God be wy you, god b’w’y, godbwye, god buy’ ye, and good-b’wy. The first word of the expression is now good and not God, for good replaced God by analogy with such expressions as good day, perhaps after people no longer had a clear idea of the original sense of the expression. A letter of 1573 written by Gabriel Harvey contains the first recorded use of goodbye: “To requite your gallonde [gallon] of godbwyes, I regive you a pottle of howdyes,” recalling another contraction that is still used.

First of all, how much fun is it to say, “I regive you a pottle of howdyes.” Just putting it out there. Why do Americans have to go shortening everything? Pottle is so much more fun to say than “pot” or “drinking vessel”– LAME.  Let’s bring it back, y’all.  Pepsi tried to kickback to the ’80s, we’re kickin’ it way back to the ’70s, the 1570s that is.  Give me a revived logo, I’ll one-up you with a POTTLE of cheer.

Secondly, my favorite version of archaic goodbyes is “good-b’wy” because it looks like it’s a shortening of “good Broadway.”  This seems all too appropriate for my move to New York.  Maybe this is looking way too far into things?  Goodbye Broadway, frat-row, Tulane Clinic parking lot where I learned to drive, hello Columbia University on Broadway (albeit not “that” one, fine with me!) in good ol’ New York, New York.  Or good new, in my case…

If you’re wondering what all this skirting around is leading to, it’s one thing: I stink at goodbyes.  They either turn out entirely too over-dramatic or they don’t hit me until six months after the fact.  So I’m taking this postcardy opportunity to say goodbye in a hello.

Here’s my Oprah moment: I have been so amazingly privileged to meet, work with, become friends with some of the most fantastic human beings on the face of the Earth.  Because I’m in theatre, I like to tell myself– I think we all do– that it’s never goodbye! We’ll always bump into each other again, that’s just the way the business works!  But as so many people I love are beginning to make lives for themselves throughout the country, myself included, I’m realizing things get busy, life gets in the way and before you know it a month is a year.

I make these postcards, in all honesty, selfishly, so that I can keep a little part of you.  So that I can hold onto our connection just a little longer.  For as long as I can, even.  So maybe we don’t talk as much as we used to, maybe we don’t get to see each other everyday, maybe our lives are taking us in entirely different directions– but you’re immortalized to me.

We’ll always have the postcards.  I just wanted to say hello, even if it is on a piece of cardstock, because I don’t think I ever can say goodbye.

Post Script: One of my favorite songs about goodbyes is, ironically enough, from The Muppets Take Manhattan.  I can only assume my life will be like this beloved classic and all my favorite people in the world will end up joining me for a reunion musical on Broadway…

34 thoughts on “Saying “Goodbwyes.”

  1. First of all ~ nice theme choice! I have the same one 😉

    Love this post! I enjoyed being educated a bit on what goodbye means and where it came from ~ can’t wait to show off for my friends and look intelligent on your behalf 😉

    But most importantly, I completely agree with you about goodbyes and am also ~ not so good with them. In fact, I am downright awful. I do everything in my power to avoid them and always feel bad afterwards.

    It’s always been difficult for me to leave good places and great friends.

    I remember realizing at the end of an amazing summer with my girlfriends ~ that we were going to be headed in opposite directions. I was so sad because I wanted to keep us all together, but thankfully life doesn’t work that way.

    We all have our own paths to walk, places to go, things to experience, and homes to find. Hopefully we will branch off, stay in touch and cheer each other on from the sidelines.

    The same game is only fun for so long anyway….;)

  2. Thanks for all the love and support everyone! I had no idea I got freshly pressed until I saw your comments! Let’s hold on to those hellos, eh?

  3. Fascinating… I am a big fan of etymology and ‘goodbye’ was one that I hadn’t ever been exposed to (the etymology of goodbye, that is). Thanks so much for writing this (and being freshly pressed, lol), because I probably wouldn’t have voluntarily looked up this word.

    I think it’s fascinating how much “God” was part of such everyday language as ‘goodbye.’

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

  4. I really enjoyed reading this. I’m actually making a round of goodbyes in my current life.

    PS I had not thought about The Muppets Take Manhattan in so long. That song always makes me weepy but in a good way. Thanks for the post!

  5. Someone said,”It seems that life is saying goodbye to the people we love and hello to those we hate .”I agree with it specially after reading this excellent article. So lets hope and pray that we dont have to do the things we dont want to.

  6. loved your piece. it reflects exactly my sentiments…i’m inadequacy personified when it comes to saying goodbyes. have wondered constantly about why it takes just a single second to say hello but longer than forever to say goodbye.

  7. First of all, “Why do Americans have to go shortening everything?” then almost immediately after, “Let’s bring it back, y’all.”

    I don’t know if the irony was intentional or not, but it’s ridiculously funny 🙂

    You have a great sense of humor! And my sister always used to cry like mad when this part of the movie came on. She couldn’t hold it together.

  8. I love that Charles Schulz quote you started the article with. We could be sad about the people who move out of our lives but we’ve just got to think there could be more interesting people around the corner.

    • I would love to send y’all a postcard. But I do really love sending them by mail–there’s something about a hard copy that goes beyond the screen. It’s only a 24 cent stamp and I would be happy to do it. Please send your address to: clquinta@gmail.com. All the best, CQ

  9. Just stumbled across this on my way to do some work on my blog. What a great read. I always wondered about goodbye and what the heck was a bye anyway? I thought someone said it was German. So, I guess I can figure out what bye-bye means. Now I can explain that to all these little Japanese kids around me who think “bai-bai” is Japanese when I know darn well it isn’t.

  10. I read the title of your post and immediately started singing that song from Muppets Take Manhattan in my head. Also, call me crude but using the word Pottle will just start me using the euphemism “Gotta go squattle on the pottle”. And also, sometimes goodbye is actually goodbye. I hate to say it, but sometimes it really is, and well, it just sucks. But I always count myself lucky for having had someone(s) in my life to really deeply miss.

  11. A month from now, I’ll be saying goodbye to my boyfriend who’s going back to Italy this coming September and it’s definitely going to hit me in the head to say ‘goodbye’ sooner or later. But I always imagine how I would say it without being too “over-dramatic.”

    But what really captures me is this excerpt I got from your writing:
    ” So maybe we don’t talk as much as we used to, maybe we don’t get to see each other everyday, maybe our lives are taking us in entirely different directions– but you’re immortalized to me.”

    I wouldn’t be able to see or do the things I usually do with my boyfriend and that crushes me. But he will always be ‘immortalized’ in my memory. I rarely say goodbye… half the time I do it is when I usually don’t mean it. But maybe the next time around, I definitely might have to…

    • I feel you, love. I’ll be saying goodbye to someone pretty important too. But I think we honestly have no idea where life is going to take us. It could totally surprise you. Who knows when and where you’ll meet again? And, at the end of the day, I’m sure y’all have had an awesome run– and that is certainly something to look back and smile on.

      Good luck and all the best,
      CQ

  12. We’ve all been there,but I know that this is normal,you meet people, you become friends for a while,but then it’s time to say goodbye . I know it sucks but that’s the way life goes. We should be all thankful for the social networking sites,when people can connect again and get in touch. but I like your post. keep it up

  13. I really enjoyed this post. I’ve said goodbye only once properly, but I have said hello to many, soon it’s going to be the other way round isn’t it. I kept wondering all the way though reading your post at who you where saying goodbye too?

    This post actually makes me a little bit sad.

  14. I think it’s a really bittersweet thing.
    It’s goodbye to a city I love more than any place on earth, that has been more home to me than anywhere else. Goodbye to a really incredible woman after a too-brief hello. Goodbye to a comfort zone as I step into change. Goodbye to so many firsts and loves and memories.

    I’m sorry that it makes you sad. It makes me sad/nostalgic/hopeful. Goodbyes are so different for everyone in every situation. At least they remind us what it is to be human, if nothing else…

  15. What a great post- and I love the Charles Shultz quote at the beginning- how true! I moved overseas when I was 21 and my life has been a constant stream of goodbyes… ever since…

Leave a comment